Backing up data

Computers, Gadgets, Software, Electronics, etc.

Backing up data

Postby Dissident » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:10 pm

Hey all

Overall, we run the gauntlet when it comes to our data. Home computers/laptops, and portable devices, contain a myriad of data files that we really do consider important. Some things, like movies, or TV shows - we can do without. Things like that can be downloaded again. But other files are extremely valuable to us; photos, home videos and documents.

I am by no means an expert in all of this, but I have had some experience in data backup/recovery, and have lost data of my own. This is just my view on things.

It might seem overkill, but we really need to look at different scenarios. What if your hard drive dies? What if your computer is stolen? What if your computer, and everything else in your study/office is stolen? What if you have a house fire and lose everything you own? In each of those situations, what have you lost? Where do you get it back from?

Tip 1: Imagine different scenarios, and imagine what you lose in each one.

At worst, you should have a copy of important files somewhere. Burning DVDs or having an external HDD is the minimum you should have. After this, you should then think about where you store that backup. In the same room? In another room? At someone elses house? All good (and progressively better) options.

Tip 2: Consider an "off-site" backup for photos, documents etc

So you have a backup HDD, and leave it at someone elses house. Then, their house is broken into, and it's stolen. Who has your data? Not you - and not your friend. Was the data secured? Encrypted? Anything? Whilst having the data outside of your house is a great idea- it's less secure.

Tip 3: Discover ways to encrypt your data, especially if it's not going to sit in your control/reach