Page 1 of 1

Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:38 pm
by JK
If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.

Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 8:58 pm
by Voice
Constance_Perm wrote:If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.

Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?

I think the position of the free is actually in relation to where they rushed it. An example on the weekend in the Freo/Kangas game the player had to take his kick on the extreme angle as the ball was rushed between the goal and behind post, closest to the behind post.
In relation to your actual question, I think it matters not if you rush it for your own team, it just stands as a point.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 9:59 am
by rogernumber10
Constance_Perm wrote:If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.

Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?


An attacking team has no restrictions on it for the ball crossing the scoring line, other than it must be a legal action - ie, a kick or handball if you have the ball in your possession, a punch or knock of a loose ball, or you can tackle or be tackled over the scoring line, to register a point, if there is no prior opportunity to dispose of the ball, and the ball is classified as held up, but a point scores because of the position now of the players behind the scoring line..

Similar question was raised as an issue under this scenario over the weekend:
Scores are tied and player has a shot for goal after the siren on the acute angle. the player doesn't trust his kicking, as he's a nervous type, and he chooses to come in on his line to kick and instead of kicking, handballs over the man on the mark for a point that wins the game. What is the ruling?

Verdict from the umpiring dept was that;
- A handball is a legal form of disposal as is a kick. If he handballs over the man on the mark, any score would count if the ball crosses the scoring line.
- Because the siren has gone, the player can't go off his line, as that would be play on. So, provided he moved in the direct line towards the man on the mark, his point would count.

If he tried to handball sideways, or open up his angle, that would be play on, before the legal disposal, and the score wouldn't count.

I'm not sure who sits around and thinks up these scenarios.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:05 am
by JK
rogernumber10 wrote:
Constance_Perm wrote:If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.

Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?


An attacking team has no restrictions on it for the ball crossing the scoring line, other than it must be a legal action - ie, a kick or handball if you have the ball in your possession, a punch or knock of a loose ball, or you can tackle or be tackled over the scoring line, to register a point, if there is no prior opportunity to dispose of the ball, and the ball is classified as held up, but a point scores because of the position now of the players behind the scoring line..

Similar question was raised as an issue under this scenario over the weekend:
Scores are tied and player has a shot for goal after the siren on the acute angle. the player doesn't trust his kicking, as he's a nervous type, and he chooses to come in on his line to kick and instead of kicking, handballs over the man on the mark for a point that wins the game. What is the ruling?

Verdict from the umpiring dept was that;
- A handball is a legal form of disposal as is a kick. If he handballs over the man on the mark, any score would count if the ball crosses the scoring line.
- Because the siren has gone, the player can't go off his line, as that would be play on. So, provided he moved in the direct line towards the man on the mark, his point would count.

If he tried to handball sideways, or open up his angle, that would be play on, before the legal disposal, and the score wouldn't count.

I'm not sure who sits around and thinks up these scenarios.


LOL Thanks Rog, as that's certainly a scenario that entered my mind after the Johnson situation on Friday night (even though in that instance it wouldn't have helped Johno).

Whilst I understand what the AFL are trying to achieve through the rule, it seems a little inconsistent that one team cannot rush a behind at their goalfront, yet the other team can.

Obviously no biggy, the instances of it occurring would be ultra low.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:09 am
by mighty_tiger_79
it will happen at some stage and there will have to be a ruling to eliminate that scenario out, just as the new ruling was bought in as a result of Bowden last year v bombers

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:14 am
by MightyEagles
Constance_Perm wrote:If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.

Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?


Why would a forward deliberately ruch a point for their own team, I would think that they would be trying to get a goal no matter what.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:15 am
by rogernumber10
The one it reminds me of is the extra time final of West Coast v Collingwood a couple of years back at Subiaco where West Coast had the ball about 30 metres out from goal for something like 70 seconds before the siren. They tried a couple of times, through Cox and Seaby to smash it over the goal line from bounces, and Collingwood was jumping 2-3 at the throw-up to ensure the Eagles couldn't do it.
Once the ball went to ground, West Coast guys were swinging everything at the ball to just force it forward, as no one could manage a clean disposal, while Collingwood had multiple men at the ball to ensure it was held again.
Was an unbelievable minute or two of play for no score, before the siren went and extra time was played.

Apart from that type of scenario, where you just need a single point and it's late in the game, not sure ever of the benefit of getting one point, ahead of trying to get six with a goal, particularly when you give the ball up to the opposition when you score a point.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:23 am
by RoosterMarty
I remember when a very clever Justin Leppitsch punched the ball through for a 'rushed behind' for Brisbane which leveled the scores against Geelong and the siren went not long after. It does happen but it just very rare.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 11:00 am
by JK
I agree with the rarity of the incidences, but as Marty pointed out, there is precedence.

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 12:16 pm
by mighty_tiger_79
7 point plays

Re: Hypothetical Question?

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 12:34 pm
by JK
MightyEagles wrote:
Constance_Perm wrote:If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.

Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?


Why would a forward deliberately ruch a point for their own team, I would think that they would be trying to get a goal no matter what.


Keep up son ;)