Constance_Perm wrote:If a defender rushes a behind under pressure, he now gives away a free kick from the goalsquare.
Would the same penalty apply if a forward deliberately rushed a behind for his own team (eg, Brad Johnson handballs through the goals for a game tying behind with 1 second to go)?
An attacking team has no restrictions on it for the ball crossing the scoring line, other than it must be a legal action - ie, a kick or handball if you have the ball in your possession, a punch or knock of a loose ball, or you can tackle or be tackled over the scoring line, to register a point, if there is no prior opportunity to dispose of the ball, and the ball is classified as held up, but a point scores because of the position now of the players behind the scoring line..
Similar question was raised as an issue under this scenario over the weekend:
Scores are tied and player has a shot for goal after the siren on the acute angle. the player doesn't trust his kicking, as he's a nervous type, and he chooses to come in on his line to kick and instead of kicking, handballs over the man on the mark for a point that wins the game. What is the ruling?
Verdict from the umpiring dept was that;
- A handball is a legal form of disposal as is a kick. If he handballs over the man on the mark, any score would count if the ball crosses the scoring line.
- Because the siren has gone, the player can't go off his line, as that would be play on. So, provided he moved in the direct line towards the man on the mark, his point would count.
If he tried to handball sideways, or open up his angle, that would be play on, before the legal disposal, and the score wouldn't count.
I'm not sure who sits around and thinks up these scenarios.
Roger Woodcock -- 602 goals from a forward flank makes you a legend.