Spirit of 64, based on what you ahve posted this is how I see it as a level 2 umpire...(Damn I love the perpindicular pronoun

)
1. should have been called play on by the fieldy and the fag (boundary umpire) should signal our of bounds and throw it in, the key call is the fieldy should call paly on, which is the signal for the fag to make the call. Law 16.5.1 b (ii)
Soon as player moves off the line or rotates awy from the line of the kick towards goals it should be play on)
2. Should have been holding the ball as he had prior opportunity, as you described it, to dispose of the ball. It is an interpretive thing, the field umpire has to decide in an instant whether
he has had or
hasn't had prior opportunity and if
he has, has he
attempted to correctly dispose of the ball - Law 15.2.3 b
3. Hard to say as once again the two different examples may or may not have had prior opportunity. If the Eagles player hasn't had prior opportunity when he is grabbed by the wrist. The correct decision has been made - ball up.
This is the problem with the two and three umpire system as the split second decsion often leaves the umpires as a team open to criticism of inconsistancy. Even as an indifividul umpire it leaves you open, many times I have made the split second decision and thought **** that wasn't the same interpretation as I made earlier.
In an instant an umpire has to make a holding the ball decsion he has to consider: 1) prior or no prior opportunity, 2) was the tackle correct, 3) was the attempt or actual disposal of the ball correct, and 4) was the player making the ball his sole objective given the opportunity to do so, in other words was he bing scragged while trying to get hold of the ball originally.
Try do that several times in a 10 sec period when it is a tight close game like a GF.......
Let that be a lesson to you Port, no one beats the Bays five times in a row in a GF and gets away with it!!!