whufc wrote:While we are discussing rules this interesting scenario come up in the CD vs GLE game on the weekend.
There was a ball up close to the Central goal line to which Todd Grima jumped third man up and punched the ball through the points on the full.
As the rule states Central were awarded a free kick to which Sutherland kicked the goal from a tight angle. Central were awarded 6 points.
Question- Why was Central not given the point from the Todd Grima rushed behind?
Are they denying that play even exsisted despite awarding a free kick for it?
If a player kicks a point and then is pushed after his disposal he is awarded the point then the shot at goal?
Thoughts? Am i the only one confused by this?
Very good question
I would say the free was paid b4 the score is registered
That being the case the 1 point is not allowed, and the free kick awarded
PA V NW AAMI 2011
The same thing happened game 1 PA V NW at AAMI
A NW player [Mcguiness from memory] in a ruck duel punched the ball thru for a point
It was deemed deliberate, a free was given to PA
PA scored the goal, the point was not registered from memory
EG V NW 2010 at WDV OVAL
EG scored a point
That man Mcguiness again was taking a kick off, kept stepping back and back and over the goalline
EG got the free for a deliberate rushed behind
EG scored a goal
Once again Im sure the point didnt register
MALcolm BLIGHT NM V ?? VFL
Another example
I reckon this one went like this
He kicked a point
the siren sounded and the game was a draw ?
however he got a free for after disposal
The point was retracted from the score, so NM were behind by a point
MALcolm Blight had a set shot and kicked out on the fool !
Back to the original question
It seems logical to not count the point in Grimas case
But a 7 point play should also be logical
Im confused as well ...